Vital Records in Vermont

Vital records in Vermont are maintained by the Vermont Department of Health in Burlington, where they issue certified copies of birth, death, marriage & divorce certificates. All prior records must be requested from the county department where the event was filed.

Below is a table showing the year ranges that the Vermont Department of Health - Agency of Human Services can provide:

Record Type Available From
Vermont Birth Records 1909 – 2024
Vermont Death Records 1909 – 2024
Vermont Divorce Records 1909 – 2024
Vermont Marriage Records 1909 – 2024

Find County Offices in Vermont

County Year Founded
Addison County, VT 1785
Bennington County, VT 1779
Caledonia County, VT 1792
Chittenden County, VT 1787
Essex County, VT 1792
Franklin County, VT 1792
Grand Isle County, VT 1802
Lamoille County, VT 1835
Orange County, VT 1781
Orleans County, VT 1792
Rutland County, VT 1781
Washington County, VT 1810
Windham County, VT 1781
Windsor County, VT 1781